Naga Dosha / KaalSarp Dosha

Kaal Sarp Dosha a Myth or Reality?

Naga Dosha / KaalSarp Dosha

In the Astrological realm, Naga dosha is referred to as KaalSarp Dosha. Origins about these planetary combinations were not mentioned in ancient texts though. So Authenticity of this is still a debated topic.

Note: Feelastro only follows the principles according to Classical texts such as BPHS, Brihat Jathaka, UttaraKalamritha and some valid points from Devakeralam. Any astrologers from our panel if considering Kaalsarp dosha valid will only be his/her personal opinion.

This blog is written based on public interest


When all the planets are hemmed in between Rahu and Ketu, then this inauspicious Yoga is formed. When a person is having such a combination in their chart are said to have accumulated some bad karma in their past life which they have to identify and correct in the present life. Something like a snake shedding its old skin and growing a new one.

People with this yoga usually display some symptoms like skin problems, headache, Anxiety and stomach/digestive problems it is better to identify the yoga in a person’s chart at the earliest possible and perform some remedies. Remember that a remedy means not something like paid poojas or rituals but visiting your favourite deity and performing some charity on a regular basis (a small charity will be sufficient, but do it wholeheartedly) at least till the age of 45 or 47. This will balance your past life karma.

In the figure (Rashi Chart) above a Kaal Sarpa Dosham is formed where the planets are between Rahu (in Taurus) and Ketu (in Scorpio). As per the above chart, it is important to check the degrees of planets in Taurus (Saturn, Sun, and Mercury) because if it is outside the range of Rahu, then no such yoga is formed. Also if there is a benefic aspect of Jupiter over Rahu and if any auspicious yogas, for example, one or more of Gaja Kesari Yoga, Mahapurush Yoga, Parijat Yoga, etc are present in the horoscope, then negative effects of Kaalsarp dosha will be nullified. So it is better to clearly study the type of dosha and if it is actually existing or not in the chart.

Types of KaalSarp Dosha

There are 12 types of Kaal Sarp Dosham based on the placement of Rahu in the Houses. They are:

  1. Anant Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 1st house)
  2. Kulik Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 2nd house)
  3. Vasuki Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 3rd house)
  4. Shankpal Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 4th house)
  5. Padam Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 5th house)
  6. Maha Padam Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 6th house)
  7. Thakshak Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 7th house)
  8. Karkotak Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 8th house)
  9. Shankachood Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 9th house)
  10. Ghatak Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 10th house)
  11. Vishdhaar Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 11th house)
  12. Sheshnaag Kaal Sarp Yoga (Rahu in 12th house)

People show different symptoms according to the type of yoga. It is also advised to symptomatically correct the problems seen in the person’s character in order to nullify any bad effect of this yoga in a person’s life. A person knowing his / her weaknesses is the greatest remedy above anything.

Get a Free Horoscope Report Get  a Free Love & Compatibility Report

Free Numerology Report

Astrology Yoga Calculators

Check your Ishta Devta

Learn Vedic Astrology Online