Houses or Bhavas in Vedic Astrology

In Vedic Astrology, there are 12 houses like the 12 Zodiac signs. Each house or Bhav represents a specific matter related to human life in this world.

Houses or Bhavas in Vedic Astrology

In Vedic Astrology, there are 12 houses like the 12 Zodiac signs. Each house or Bhav represents a specific matter related to human life in this world. Position of Zodiac signs or Rashis in Astrology is fixed, whereas houses are not. Houses are viewed from a reference point such as Lagna, Chandra Lagna, Aruda Lagna etc. The mode of reference depends on what matter an astrologer is analyzing in a horoscope. The most common reference point to analyze houses is Lagna or Ascendant sign.

Categories in Houses.

There are several categories in houses which are grouped under certain functions.

Houses 1, 5 and 9 are known as Trikon or Trine. These houses are also known as Lakshmi sthan and represent the dharma trikon. These houses bring fortune, prosperity and overall goodness to a person.

Houses 1, 4, 7 and 10 are Kendra or Quadrants. These houses are Vishnu Sthan, representing the key areas to sustain our life in this world.

Note: The 1st house, which represents Lagna or ourselves, is a Trikon and a Kendra house.

Houses 3, 6, 10 and 11 are known as Upachayas. These houses represent our ability to overcome challenges, gain experiences, and growth in matters related to specific houses over time. 

Houses 6, 8 and 12 are known as Trik sthana or dusthana. These houses represent obstacles, problems and setbacks in one's life.

Apart from the above categorization, 12 Houses are divided into four categories of Trines or Trikons. They are Dharma Trikon (1, 5 and 9), representing Dharma and religion. Artha Trikon (2, 6 and 10) illustrates wealth, money or related activities. Kaama Trikon (3, 7 and 11) represents a person's desire in specific areas of life. Moksha Trikon (4, 8 and 12) represents spirituality and the ultimate seeking of truth and reality in this living world.

Other categories are known as Panapharas (2, 5, 8 and 11). These are Kendra houses counted from the 2nd house. Apoklimas (3, 6, 9 and 12). These are Kendra houses counted from the 3rd house.

Detailed info about houses and the matters they signify are given below in the table.

House 1 or Lagna General well-being, Health, Physical
Personality/Appearance, Complexion, Head,
House 2 or Dhana Bhava Wealth, Fixed Assets, Family, Voice, Face,
Eyes, Social Personality or 2nd Personality
House 3 or Bhratru bhava Younger Siblings, Father's Health/Longevity,
Communication, Short Travels, Courage,
Mental Strength, Property and Vehicle
Expenditures, Ears
House 4 or Mathru bhava Mother, House, Vehicles, property, General
Happiness, Peace, Basic Education,
Heart/Cardiac portion
House 5 or Suta bhava Children, Good Karma of previous birth,
Speculations, Judgement, Love & Relations,
Intelligence and knowledge, Devotions &
Prayers, Stomach and Abdomen
House 6 or Shatru/Ripu bhava Enemies, Illness, Service Sector/Military/Law
& Order jobs, Debts and Loans, Mother's
Younger Siblings, Mental Tensions, Hip
House 7 or Kaama bhava Marriage Union, Spouse, Business, Desires,
Ambitions, Foreign Settlement, Long Travels, Longevity, Under-Stomach
House 8 or Mrityu bhava Secrets, Hidden Desires, Longevity, Treasures
and Unexpected Wealth, Unexpected Losses,
Debts, Black Magic and Occultism, Genital area
of body
House 9 or Bagya bhava Fortune, Religiousness, Father, Guru, Higher
Education, Leadership, Higher Authority,
Foreign Travel & Business, Devotion, Thighs
House 10 or Karma bhava Profession, Business and Career, Father (as
per bavat bhava), Karma of Life, Personal &
Professional Growth, Social fame, Knees
House 11 or Aya bhava Income, Gains, Friends, Social Connections,
Desires, Elder Siblings, Fulfilment of Dreams,
House 12 or Vyaya bhava Moksha or Liberation, Spirituality,
Expenditures and Losses, Bed Pleasure /
Sleep, Remote places and Isolations, Bad
Habits, Foreign Land

Get a Free Horoscope Report Get  a Free Love & Compatibility Report

Free Numerology Report

Astrology Yoga Calculators

Check your Ishta Devta

Learn Vedic Astrology Online